Niteflite History

Nitefliteā€™s current configuration began in 2003 as a 9-piece group, then expanded to 10 members in 2010 with the addition of guitarist/vocalist Ted Shaw, but the band has existed in various forms since the early nineteen-eighties. The rhythm section, comprised of Doug Smith, Vaughn Pugh, Jim Smith, and Eldon Brown, has been together since 1970, when they formed a group called "Seven", which featured a 3-piece horn section. And, although short-lived, this early horn experiment was a foretaste of things to come.

Throughout the seventies, Doug, Vaughn, Jim, and Eldon, along with guitarist Shelley Browning, continued performing under the name "Sixth Concession". Although lacking a full horn section, the group nevertheless continued to polish and perform tunes by groups such as Chicago and Blood, Sweat, & Tears, utilizing Vaughn on trumpet, and adding St. Clair Shadd on tenor sax.

As the seventies drew to a close, the band went into a period of inactivity, due in part to the family and career commitments of its members. Their love of music and performing was never lost, however. In the early eighties, inspired by the movie "The Blues Brothers", and in particular by the line "We're putting the band back together", the boys decided to revive the group, this time under the name "Niteflite". The band initially consisted of the same members as "Sixth Concession" and performed in that configuration for several years. For a short time in the late eighties, a three-piece horn section was added, featuring George Willson on trumpet, Jack Drobko on trombone, and St. Clair on tenor sax. Throughout the nineties, Niteflite continued to perform primarily as a 5-piece group, but their love of the horn-band sound never diminished. Continued >>>